Academic System

Bologna Process:

The Bologna Process, introduced in Hungary in 2006, is a series of structural reforms and  governmental tools  to ensure comparability in the standards and quality of higher-education qualifications in the EU[1] The process created the harmonised  operation of higher education institutions in the European Higher Education Area on the basis of common key values. International students have the chance to study in a flexible European framework with numerous opportunities such as credit transfer between two countries or the uniformity of diplomas.


ECTS (European  Credit Transfer and Accumulation System):

ECTS is a tool of the European Higher Education Area for making studies and courses  transparent and comparable. It helps students to move between countries and to have their academic qualifications and study periods abroad recognised. ECTS credits represent learning based on defined learning outcomes and their associated workload.


Three cycles of qualifications in Hungary:

The traditional college and university level training programmes  were gradually phasing out and were replaced by a three-tier degree system from 2006:

+ one more  cycle (the traditional university level degree):


Diploma Supplement:

Upon graduation, and in addition to the higher education diploma, students are provided with a special document, the DS, which gives information about the holder of the qualification, the qualification type and its originating institution, the qualification level, the content of the course and results (credits and grades) gained, and the function of the qualification. The DS is an important tool to ensure that their degrees are recognised by higher education institutions, public authorities and employers in their home countries and abroad.